LaraBar

LaraBar Logo

LaraBars are my go-to snack for when I’m not up to baking something and I want a healthy way to satisfy my sweet tooth.  I’ve been eating them for several years, and now they’re basically a staple in my diet.  I think it’s amazing how so few ingredients (dates, nut, fruit, and spices) can be combined in various ways to create so many different and delicious bars.  I went on a quest to try every flavor, and here is a ranking that I compiled (with Peanut Butter Cookie as my current favorite):

  • Peanut Butter Cookie
  • Key Lime Pie
  • Pecan Pie
  • Banana Cookie
  • Coconut Cream Pie
  • Lemon Bar
  • Apple Pie
  • Chocolate Coconut Chew
  • Cinnamon Roll
  • Ginger Snap
  • Cherry Pie
  • Pistachio
  • Cocoa Mole
  • Cashew Cookie

I should probably mention that my favorite flavor has changed several times.  For years I liked Lemon Bar the best, but after Key Lime Pie was introduced it became my new favorite.  Cashew Cookie is the only flavor that I actually dislike, so I usually cycle through the other available flavors for variety.  I think the new flavors seem to be continually improving, since the newest bars (Peanut Butter Cookie and Coconut Cream Pie) are fabulous.
I know that some people don’t like the fact that LaraBars aren’t organic, but they are vegan, gluten-free, kosher, and non-GMO, so I don’t really mind. LaraBars can be kind of expensive, so it’s a good idea to shop around at your local stores to see who has the best price (at the stores that are within walking distance from my apartment, the bars are sold for $1.29, $1.35, $1.99, and $2.19).  I was a little bummed out when the company was sold to General Mills last year, but I still absolutely love the bars.   If you have a chance to try some, I doubt you’ll be disappointed!

January 25, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Mandee/Kitteh replied:

    I don’t like the Jocalat and my favourite is the Pecan Pie one, tho we don’t have the whole range here!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

