Banana Ice Cream

IMG_1138

I love bananas.  They’re fabulous in baking applications, in savory dishes, or simply as a snack.  One of my absolute favorite uses for bananas is to make a tasty frozen dessert.  Somehow, I think that bananas become even more delicious when they’re frozen, and turning them into a healthy, vegan ice cream is almost too easy!
I don’t have an ice cream maker at my apartment, so I was super excited when I read that blending frozen bananas in a food processor creates a smooth, ice cream-like dessert. There’s no real recipe for this ice cream, but I usually use a few bananas, a bit of agave nectar, and whatever flavor additions I happen to be in the mood for.  My favorite is just to add a little bit of cocoa powder (if you use cacao powder instead, the ice cream will be totally raw!), but I also frequently add shredded coconut, chopped nuts, cinnamon and maple syrup, or some frozen fruit.
If you have a hankering for some vegan ice cream that’s quick, delicious and even good for you, I strongly recommend putting the frozen bananas in your freezer to good use by making yourself some ice cream!

February 25, 2009. Frozen Desserts, Raw.

One Comment

  1. Squeak replied:

    “Somehow, I think that bananas become even more delicious when they’re frozen, and turning them into a healthy, vegan ice cream is almost too easy!”

    I heard on Good Eats that freezing bananas actually does make them sweeter. I thought he mentioned something about the crystalization and puncturing sugar molecules in the banana, but this website says it breaks down the starches into sugar…maybe it breaks them down by crystalizing and puncturing? I got nuthin.

    http://hubpages.com/hub/Whole_Food_Health__Bananas

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

