Turtle Mountain

Turtle Mountain Logo

I must admit that I was something of an ice cream fanatic in my pre-vegan days.  Ice cream was always my favorite dessert by far, and I even worked at an ice cream parlor for three years during high school.  I used to eat several pints of ice cream a week, and after going vegan I experimented with a variety of non-dairy frozen desserts to find a replacement for my ice cream indulgences. Turtle Mountain’s Purely Decadent line of soy ice creams is very popular among vegans and non-vegans alike, but I have never enjoyed soy-based frozen desserts, so my ice cream void remained unfilled for years.
That is why I was absolutely ecstatic when I discovered Turtle Mountain’s line of coconut milk-based products, and I can definitively say that Purely Decadent made with Coconut Milk products are by far the best non-dairy ice creams that I have ever tried! The taste and texture are fantastic, and the ingredient lists are reassuringly short.  The coconut milk ice cream is more expensive than other options, but I think that the extra cost is well worth it.  I’ve tried every flavor of coconut milk Purely Decadent ice creams (with the exception of Mint Chip, since I don’t like anything mint-flavored), and here is my personal ranking of the flavors:

  • Mocha Almond FudgePurely Decadent made with Coconut Milk
  • Coconut
  • Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl
  • Chocolate
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Cookie Dough
  • Passionate Mango

The Mocha Almond Fudge flavor is seriously my non-dairy ice cream dream come true!  My family and I used to go to Baskin-Robbins all the time when I was young, and I would always order a double scoop of the Jamoca Almond Fudge ice cream — and Turtle Mountain’s coconut milk ice cream is like an even better (and vegan!) version of my childhood favorite.  Purely Decadent made with Coconut Milk is by far my favorite non-dairy ice cream on the market, and I have been trying to use it to wean my family members off of dairy-based desserts.  I recommend giving it to anyone who has a craving for some great vegan ice cream!

March 15, 2009. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. amy replied:

    i was unmoved by the passionate mango at first, but as i went back to finish the pint over a week or so, that changed. when left out to soften, it gets a moussey consistency that is divine. sorry to hear it doesn’t float your boat.
    coconut milk FTW.

  2. weeeeeeeeeeeee replied:

    Wow 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

