Cinnamon Caramel Ice Cream

Cinnamon Caramel Ice Cream

This fabulous raw ice cream is my new favorite dessert!  It’s gotten to the point where I always make sure to have the ingredients on hand so I can whip up a batch if I‘m in the mood, and the finished dessert is so healthy that I don’t feel the least bit guilty about eating it all the time.  I think this combination is the best banana-based ice cream I’ve made so far, and it’s so simple to prepare!

Cinnamon Caramel Ice Cream

I feel a bit misleading in calling this recipe Cinnamon Caramel Ice Cream, since the “caramel” is actually pieces of Medjool dates, but I think the name is fitting overall.  To make the ice cream, simply blend a few frozen bananas in your food processor, then add a handful of pitted Medjool dates, a pinch of cinnamon, and a bit of agave nectar, and pulse until the dates are chopped into small pieces.  You can easily adjust the ingredients and their proportions to better suit your preferences, for instance by omitting the agave nectar or cinnamon or substituting other types of dates.  I like to go heavy on the dates since they’re my favorite part (the chunks of frozen date get caught in your teeth like the most delightful gobs of caramel), with just a hint of cinnamon to round out the flavor without being overpowering.
You can serve the ice cream right away as soft-serve, or place it in the freezer overnight to firm up to the consistency of regular ice cream. I love to eat a scoop or two alongside a brawnie, or to simply have a bowlful as a healthy, satisfying dessert!

Cinnamon Caramel Ice Cream

May 5, 2009. Frozen Desserts, Raw.

6 Comments

  1. Mandee replied:

    Oh my! Your ice cream looks and sounds delish! I need my narnas to ripen so I can freeze ’em and make this! Thanks for the super easy recipe 😀

  2. Neener Bee replied:

    Whoa! That looks incredible!

  3. Shelby replied:

    Sounds like a delicious treat perfect for summer =)

  4. Kiersten replied:

    This sounds SO good! I recently discovered how much I love dates (okay, I’m obsessed). I can’t wait to try this.

  5. Vegetation replied:

    Yum! I love it when dessert is both delicious and good for you!

  6. Day One-ish. « Thrive in 30 replied:

    […] was played and two friends and I enjoyed Mango Sorbet and Cinnamon Caramel “Ice Cream” ! Ohhhhhhhhhh gooooodness! Needless to say, I bought more bananas today! […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

