Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies

Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies

A few months ago, a posted about the Chocolate Chip Cookies that serve as my go-to recipe when I want a quick, easy-to-make, and relatively-healthy cookie.  As I mentioned at the time though, those cookies are not the ones I make if I’m hoping to impress others with how delicious vegan baked goods can be.  In those situations, the cookie recipe I’ve always used is Dreena Burton’s Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies.
The recipe is available online and there is even an instructional video to go along, but it can also be found in her cookbook, Everyday Vegan.  I love how simple the recipe is, and the fact that is doesn’t require margarine, egg replacer, or any ingredients that you wouldn’t be likely to find in an omnivore’s kitchen.  I usually use all-purpose flour and substitute applesauce for some of the oil (the cookies in these photos were made entirely with applesauce, which is why they’re a bit pancake-ish).  I’ve gotten very different results from using different kinds of sugars (granulated, rapadura, turbinado, etc.) so if you make a batch that isn’t to your liking, it might be worth making the cookies again with a different sugar.  This recipe is the only reason I ever kept molasses in my kitchen, but if you’re not a molasses person I assume it would be fine to use brown sugar to achieve basically the same results.  I’ve quadrupled the recipe in the past to make enough to share with my entire Calculus class, and the cookies were just as delicious as when I make a single recipe!
Everyone I’ve ever made these cookies for (vegan and omni alike) have absolutely loved them, so I heartily recommend giving them a try!

Homestyle Chocolate Chip Cookies

May 15, 2009. Cookies.

One Comment

  1. Shelby replied:

    Love these cookies!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

