Mango Sorbet

Mango Sorbet

I don’t have an air conditioner in my apartment, so now that summer is in full swing I’ve been making more and more frozen desserts in an attempt to keep cool.  I absolutely love fresh mangoes, but mangoes are actually one of the few fruits that I usually prefer to buy frozen.  Since I always try to have a supply of frozen mangoes on hand (my favorite brand is Trader Joe’s Mango Chunks), this sorbet is ridiculously quick and easy to make, not to mention delicious!
To make this sorbet, all that’s required is to pour the desired amount of frozen mango chunks into a food processor, add a squirt or two of agave nectar (optional), and blend until smooth.  I usually let the frozen mangoes sit on the counter for a little while to make processing easier, but it’s not really necessary to do so.  I had come across this recipe for raw mango sorbet in a few raw cookbooks, and I’ll admit that I was a bit skeptical that a recipe with only two ingredients could fulfill my expectations for a sorbet.  I was totally blown away by the taste and texture of the sorbet when I first tried it, and I honestly believe that it’s better than any regular sorbet I’ve ever made.  This mango sorbet is fabulous straight from the food processor (when it’s the consistency I would except for sorbet from a gelato shop), or you can freeze it for a few hours until it reaches the consistency of a pint of store-bought sorbet.
The mango flavor really shines in the original recipe, but sometimes I like to add other frozen fruits for variety.  I hope you’ll give this sorbet a try, and here are some of my favorite variations for inspiration!

Pineapple Mango Sorbet

Pineapple Mango Sorbet: This sorbet is my favorite variation.  It tastes like scoops of sunshine and is the perfect tropical treat!

Papaya Mango Sorbet
Papaya Mango Sorbet
: I love the color of this sorbet, and the mango flavor does a great job balancing out the taste of papaya.

Mango Banana Sherbet

Mango Banana Sherbet:  The bananas make the sorbet a bit heavier, creamier, and more satisfying — almost like a mango ice cream.

Mango Peach Sorbet

Mango Peach Sorbet: The peach flavor gets a bit overshadowed by the mangoes, but I still absolutely love this variation!

June 25, 2009. Frozen Desserts, Raw.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

