Raw Cacao Pudding

Raw Cacao Pudding

This recipe is sort of like a raw, vegan take on store-bought pudding cups!  To be honest, I rarely ate pudding cups when I was growing up since my mom only ever made pudding from scratch.  I loved to act as her kitchen assistant when she made pudding, even though I was the only one in the family who didn’t like the end result.  No matter how carefully I stirred the milk, there would still be lumps in the finished pudding, and I hated the layer of scum that formed across the top of the pudding while it chilled.  I always avoided pudding and thought that it just wasn’t the dessert for me, until I tried it again after going vegan.
This recipe for raw pudding avoids all of the downsides of the regular dairy-based version, and is incredibly quick and easy to make.  It was inspired by the recipe for “Carob Pudding” on pg. 73 of Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen, but uses cacao instead of carob and includes the addition of a bit of agave nectar.  I’ve experimented with many other recipes for raw pudding using ingredients like bananas, dates, cashew butter, or almonds, but this concoction is definitely my favorite.  At first, I thought that avocado, banana, and chocolate sounded like a crazy combination, but I was so pleasantly surprised by the results!
I usually use a Hass avocado, but I’ve also made the pudding with a Pinkerton and a Bacon avocado with almost no difference in taste.  I prefer the pudding when it’s chilled, and one great thing about the pudding is that it completely bypasses the standard problem of avocados and bananas turning brown if they’re exposed to the air, since the pudding is already brown.  In my experiences, the amount of cacao powder that’s called for in the recipe is the smallest amount that can be used to make sure the pudding achieves the desired color.  If you decide to use less cacao, the results will still be delicious, but the pudding may look a bit like swamp sludge (as in the photo below) because of the greenish undertones from the avocado.  Of course, you can add more cacao powder if you want the chocolate flavor to be more intense, though you might also want to increase the amount of agave nectar to balance the cacao’s bitterness.
This raw chocolate pudding makes a great healthy snack or dessert, and I hope you’ll consider giving it a try!

Cacao Pudding

Cacao Pudding
Adapted from “Carob Pudding”
Yield: 1-2 servings

1 banana
1 avocado
2 heaping teaspoons raw cacao powder
2 teaspoons raw agave nectar

Place all ingredients into the work bowl of your food processor and blend until completely smooth.  Refrigerate until chilled and enjoy!

July 25, 2009. Raw.

7 Comments

  1. Shelby replied:

    Oh wow. That looks yum!

  2. Nora replied:

    looks good! i once had a GREAT chocolate mousse at a veg restaurant made with avocado.

  3. Ricki replied:

    I love the combination of avocado and chocolate. The banana adds yet another delicious dimension!

  4. Michal Mymo replied:

    This looks super tasty 🙂

  5. rawbrunette replied:

    I made it yesterday and my whole family loved it.

    • Vegan Sweet Tooth replied:

      I’m so happy to hear it! Thanks trying the recipe, and I’m thrilled that it was a hit!

  6. Jessica replied:

    This looks absolutely delicious.. I love pudding from scratch, I will definitely have to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

