Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies have always been my favorite kind of cookie.  Before becoming vegan, the recipe my family used for oatmeal cookies came from the underside of the lid of Quaker Old-Fashioned Oats canisters.  As such, it’s not too surprising that my current favorite recipe came from the back of a bag of Tropical Source non-dairy chocolate chips.  The recipe can also be found on RecipeZaar as Vegan Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Nut Cookies, and it’s definitely the best cookie recipe I’ve ever made.  Through the countless batches I’ve made of these cookies, I’ve made few variations to the recipe, and I have to say that these cookies are absolutely my hands-down favorite!
From my experiences, the main thing to consider when making these cookies is the kind of nut butter you use.  I like to use roasted almond butter when I can afford it, since I think that peanut butter lends a noticeable peanut flavor to the finished cookies (which is delicious, but not what I have in mind when I think of oatmeal chocolate chip cookies).  On the other hand, I sometimes make Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookies when I’m in the mood, and I absolutely love them!  Some other changes I make to the recipe are that I like to use either oat milk or almond milk in order to stay consistent with the theme of the cookies, but any kind of non-dairy milk (including the soy milk specified in the original recipe) would be fine.  Also, I’ve found that using whole wheat flour (even whole white wheat flour) in conjunction with the rolled oats makes the cookies taste a bit too healthy and whole-grain for my tastes, so I use all-purpose flour instead.  I prefer cakey cookies, so I usually increase the amount of rolled oats to 1 1/2 cups, but the original recipe only calls for 1 cup of oats, and I think the cookies turn out well either way.  I also substitute applesauce for the canola oil in the original recipe, leave out the chopped nuts, and add a bit of cinnamon.  Finally, I’ve had better results with baking the cookies at a lower temperature for a longer time, and I like to line the cookie sheets with parchment paper instead of oiling them.  I use my beloved size 40 cookie scoop, which holds 1 1/2 tablespoons of dough, to portion out the cookies, and usually only put six cookies on each baking sheet because they spread out while cooking.
I really can’t exaggerate how much I love these cookies, and I heartily suggest making a batch of them as soon as you can!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from “Vegan Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Nut Cookies”
Yield: 1 dozen

1/3 cup oat milk (or substitute your favorite non-dairy milk)
1/3 cup almond butter
2 tablespoons applesauce
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup  chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Stir together the wet ingredients in a large bowl.  Add the dry ingredients and mix to combine, then fold in the chocolate chips.  Scoop tablespoons of the dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for about 13-15 minutes, or until tops look dry.  Enjoy!

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

November 5, 2009. Cookies.

One Comment

  1. Nora replied:

    they look wonderful! your variations sound like good ones!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

