Oatmeal Rolls

Oatmeal Roll

Like the Homemade Bread I blogged about a few months ago, the topic of this post is also non-dessert baking.  I don’t really celebrate Thanksgiving, but if I were looking for a tasty dinner roll recipe to serve for a Thanksgiving feast, I would definitely consider making this recipe.  Savory applications aside, you could certainly also use these Oatmeal Rolls as a base for something sweet.  A few ideas that come to mind are topping the rolls with peanut butter and jelly, cinnamon and sugar, maple butter, vegan nutella, etc.
I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned before how much I love oatmeal, but these incredibly soft Oatmeal Rolls take my love to a whole new level (especially when they’re warm from the oven!)  The recipe for Luscious Oatmeal Dinner Rolls can be found on VegWeb, an absolutely fabulous resource for vegan cooking and baking.  The recipe requires only easy-to-find ingredients and is very easy to follow.  I adapted the recipe by halving the amounts, substituting oil instead of margarine, using whole white wheat flour, omitting the gluten flour, using my 8×8-inch square baking pan instead of a 9-inch round pan, and sprinkling some additional rolled oats on top for a fancier presentation.  Even with my liberal changes to the original recipe, the rolls turned out wonderfully, and this recipe is definitely one which I plan to continue to make on a regular basis!

Oatmeal Rolls

November 25, 2009. Uncategorized.

4 Comments

  1. kilax replied:

    We are looking for a roll recipe and those look great! We may have to try them! Thanks for the link 🙂

  2. Koko replied:

    These look lovely!

  3. sweetie replied:

    looks awesome!

    how much oil did you sub for margarine? did you have to add extra flour bc you didn’t use the gluten flour? lastly, by “gluten flour,” does the author mean “vital wheat gluten?”

    • Vegan Sweet Tooth replied:

      Thanks for the comment!
      I used 3 tablespoons of oil to replace the 3 tablespoons of margarine in the recipe. I didn’t specifically add any extra flour to replace the gluten flour I omitted, but I probably did use some extra flour while I was kneading the dough to compensate for the omission (since there’s no precise guideline in the original recipe for how much unbleached flour to add, I just judged by the wetness of the dough). I do believe that gluten flour and vital wheat gluten refer to the same thing.
      I hope this info helps if you decide to make the rolls, and thanks again for visiting!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

