Sweet & Sara

I never liked s’mores.  On the rare occasions that I found myself in campfire situations as a kid, I would roast my marshmallow and then give it to someone else to eat, and would politely decline the accompanying graham crackers and Hershey’s chocolate.  After I went vegan, my dislike of marshmallows was something of a boon, because I never even remotely missed the gelatin-laden puffs.  In spite of this negative predisposition, I always heard positive buzz about Sweet & Sara’s vegan marshmallow products, so one day I decided to give the company’s Peanut Butter Smores a try.
Well, suffice to say that they fundamentally altered my opinion on s’mores.  The graham cracker base is crunchy and crumbly, the marshmallow layer is fluffy and luscious, the peanut butter layer adds an extra dimension of deliciousness, and the rich chocolate coating ties everything together.  Moreover, the ingredients are combined in a perfect ratio that isn’t too heavy on any one aspect, making the Peanut Butter Smores one of my absolute favorite store-bought desserts.  I prefer the Peanut Butter flavor to the Original flavor because of the additional peanutty boost, but both of the options are truly fantastic.  The s’mores are a bit pricey, but the cost is certainly worth it to give yourself an occasional special treat, especially when considering that the company is so worth supporting.  It’s hard not to appreciate Sweet & Sara’s pioneering efforts in the field of vegan marshmallows, particularly when they offer such tasty products to back up their hard work.
I definitely recommend trying a Peanut Butter Smore as soon as you get a chance; even if you’ve been a life-long marshmallow hater like I was, I highly doubt that you’ll be disappointed!

December 15, 2009. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. sweet & sara replied:

    wow! thanks so much for positive review. so glad youre no longer a shmallow hater :).

  2. Fat Fudge replied:

    I felt the same way about smores that you did, so it was no big deal to give them up when I went vegan. I saw Sweet and Sara featured on “Unwrapped” and it looks like they put a lot care into their product. I’m going to have to try it!

  3. Michal replied:

    Thanks for the review! We just got these in at my work and I have been thinking about trying them 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

