Raw Strawberry Cheesecake Cups

Strawberry Cheesecake Cup

In spite of the fact that I’m absolutely addicted to raw cashew butter, I almost never have raw cashew nuts around in my kitchen, mainly because they’re just so expensive.  I decided to splurge and buy a big bag of cashews a little while ago, and one of the recipes I tried was the Raw Strawberry Cheesecake from the Post Punk Kitchen Blog.  The cheesecake was creamy and luscious, and the fruity flavor balanced perfectly with the rich cashew base.
I’ve mentioned before that I only like to make desserts that are easy and straightforward, and even though this cheesecake certainly fits those requirements when compared to other raw cheesecake recipes I’ve seen, I decided to make only the filling of the cheesecake for the sake of simplicity.  I used lemon juice instead of lime, omitted the vanilla extract, and used frozen strawberries instead of fresh, but otherwise I followed the recipe for the filling exactly.  Since I used frozen strawberries, the blades of my food processor were so cold that the melted coconut oil re-solidified almost instantly, so I think thawing the strawberries beforehand would be a wise decision if you are using frozen berries.  I also think that I may not have processed the filling quite enough, so the next time I make the cheesecake I will make sure to continue processing the mixture until it’s completely smooth.  One great thing about making only the filling (aside from catering to laziness) is that it makes it easy to adjust the yield of the recipe, and even to reduce it to just a single serving.  I poured the filling into cups before chilling it in the refrigerator to set, but using ramekins would be an easy way to make the presentation fancier (of course, you could also make any of the accompanying toppings in the original recipe to spruce up the presentation).  This cheesecake filling has a great taste and consistency, and I’m sure that the whole cheesecake would be just as delicious.  For anyone who’s interested in making an easy raw cheesecake, this recipe would be a great one to try!

Strawberry Cheesecake Cup

January 5, 2010. Raw.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

